Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register
Obtaining Your License

Procedure for Obtaining a South Carolina Physician Assistant License:





Click here to view the current South Carolina Physician Assistant Practice Act:PA Practice Act



To obtain licensure in South Carolina, a Physician Assistant must download and complete the appropriate application from the SC LLR website:  South Carolina PA Application for Licensure


The application must be completed and submitted along with a copy of your current NCCPA certificate, scope of practice guidelines and supervision statement (see point H on p. 2 of above document), $120 fee and below mentioned inserts. Criminal background check must be performed and letters of recommendation must be received before application will be processed.


The Application Contains Multiple Sections:



P. 6-16 – Application


  • Section VI #15 – Scope of Practice Guidelines (These guidelines must be practice specific and clearly specify in detail those tasks for which approval is being sought.) - For more information about Scopes of Practice Guidelines, please refer to the BME Website and click on Applications and Forms.
  • Section VII – Letters of Recommendation (You must request that these individuals write directly to this Board (on letterhead) indicating that you are known to them, in what capacity and for how long, and outlining characteristics they believe qualify you for Physician Assistant licensure in South Carolina.)
  • Section IX – Certifying Statement – This requires a passport photograph and must be notarized.



P 17 – Certification of Education – Complete Insert 1 and mail to your Physician Assistant Program.


P 18 – Physician Assistant Verification of Licensure – Complete Insert 2 and mail to state board wherein you have ever held a license.


P 19 – Physician Assistant State Exam – This must be completed and returned with your application. This exam consists of 20 True False questions regarding the information found in the South Carolina PA Practice Act, which you can find at the top of this page.


P 20 – Application for Prescriptive Authority – This requires an additional fee of $40. You must have a permanent license to be able to prescribe any medication. Please see our Controlled Substance page regarding the requirements for prescriptive authority for these medications.


P 21 – Malpractice Claim Information – This form must be completed if you have ever been named as a defendant in a malpractice lawsuit, verdict or settlement.


Once your application is complete and your temporary license is issued, you will receive information about an interview with a member of the Board of Medical Examiners. After this interview is complete, you will receive your permanent license.


Of note, a limited license is only available for new graduates who have not yet failed 2 consecutive PANCE and have registered for the next available testing date. Prescriptive authority is not available with this license. The form is similar to the one described above and can be found here: Limited License Application






Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal