Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register


July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2020 


Awards Committee

Eric Shoup -


This committee comprised of the current SCAPA President as the chair and the five Area Reps is responsible for soliciting nominees for the PA of the Year Award and selecting the recipient of the award. This committee is also charged with recognizing other organizations and individuals in South Carolina working to improve the PA profession and healthcare in our state.


ASPIRE Committee

Taylor Busch -


This committee will organize the efforts of our ASPIRE program, a program designed to offer opportunities for students desiring to enter the PA profession to learn more about PAs, our profession, and about PA school. This is a separate membership category, so this committee will be responsible for the membership benefits offered to this group of members as well as organizing any events for students at universities and colleges in South Carolina wanting to know more about the PA profession.

CME Planning Committee

Megan Walters -
Anjinetta Yates-Johnson -


This committee works closely with our executive director to coordinate all of the planning associated with our annual CME conference which is currently held in October of each year. 


Communications Committee

Rita Dixon -


This committee is responsible for coordinating all of the communication efforts of SCAPA to our members, non-members and other members of the health care society. This includes but is not limited to the management of our website, social media, newsletter, email blasts and all other communications. 


Diversity Committee



This committee is responsible working in the community to increase minority awareness within PA communities and our patient base. The committee works with other organizations and philanthropies to promote awareness and improve healthcare in minority and underserved communities in South Carolina. The committee also works to recognize PAs serving in underserved areas. 


Nominating and Elections Committee

Temisha Budden -


This committee is chaired by the Vice President and is comprised of the Past President, Current President and President-Elect. This committee is responsible for soliciting nominations for board positions and identifying leaders within the PA community to serve as board members, committee chairs and committee members.


Finance Committee

Lisa Wilson -


This committee is chaired by the treasurer and is comprised of the President and President-Elect. The committee develops and maintains our annual budget and coordinates our annual financial audit. 


Legislative Affairs Committee

Megan Fulton -

Lesli Woodall -


This committee serves as a liaison between state and federal legislature and the State Board of Medicine. They mentor membership concerning legislative issues and craft new PA legislation in concert with the Board of Directors and work with our lobbyist and legal counsel to monitor legislation in progress or plan for changes to our practice act.

Membership Committee

Elizabeth Spitz -


This committee works to recruit and retain new members for our organization. They develop and implement plans to increase SCAPA membership while working specifically with our area representatives to develop membership in each region of our state.


Philanthropy Committee

Misty Chastain -


This committee has philanthropic relationship with SCaledown. The committee plans annual events around the state to support this philanthropy.


Public Affairs Committee

Paula Miksan - 


This committee develops programs to advance the PA profession in our state. They act as a liaison between the Board of Directors and the media. They send out public service announcements when appropriate. They coordinate and supervise PA Day activities within the constituency.


Reimbursement Committee

Caroline Coates -


This committee works to stay aware of current reimbursement legislation and policy concerning Medicare, Medicaid and third party payers. The committee works to ensure that PAs in South Carolina are represented well with respect to reimbursement policies in our state.


Student Affairs Committee

Pooja Sitapara (CSU), CoChair -

Carlye Evans (USC), CoChair -

Ryan Hamilton (CSU), Auction CoChair -

Emily Blake Sheridan (MUSC), Auction CoChair -
Savannah Motley (FMU), Challenge Bowl Chair -


The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) consists of two student representatives (one from each class) at every PA school in South Carolina. The SAC strives to keep students educated and active in South Carolina's legislative efforts. The SAC also hosts the annual Student Challenge Bowl and online auction at the SCAPA Fall CME conference. 


House of Delegates

Ali Whitten, Chief Delegate (07/2018-06/2021) -

Amy Allen (07/2017 - 06/2020) -
Ryan Uberman (07/2019 - 06/2022) -


This committee represents SCAPA to the House of Delegates at the annual AAPA conference and is responsible for communicating any resolutions or actions back to the Board and to our constituents.





Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal