Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Register


July 1, 2017 - June 30, 2018


Awards Committee


This committee comprised of the current SCAPA President as the chair is responsible for soliciting for nominees for the PA of the Year Award and selecting the recipient of the award. This committee is also charged with recognizing other organizations and individuals in South Carolina working to improve the PA profession and healthcare in our state.


Emily Bagwell, SCAPA President, Chair

ASPIRE Committee

This committee will organize the efforts of our ASPIRE program, a program designed to offer opportunities for students desiring to enter the PA profession to learn more about PAs, our profession, and about PA school. This is a separate membership category, so this committee will be responsible for the membership benefits offered to this group of members as well as organizing any events for students at universities and colleges in South Carolina wanting to know more about the PA profession.

Skylar Stewart-Clark, Chair

CME Planning Committee


This committee works closely with our executive director to coordinate all of the planning associated with our annual CME conference which is currently held in October of each year at Wild Dunes on the Isle of Palms, South Carolina. 


Temisha H. Budden, Co-Chair

Sumter Internal Medicine Associates

12 Barnett Street

Sumter, SC 29150

(w) 803-773-5442

(m) 803-351-3019

(h) 803-773-8969


Megan Walters, Co-Chair



Communications Committee


This committee is responsible for coordinating all of the communication efforts of SCAPA to our members, non-members and other members of the health care society. This includes but is not limited to the management of our website, social media, newsletter, email blasts and all other communications. 


C. Chad Robinson, Chair

Charleston Colorectal Surgery

125 Doughty St, Suite 280

Charleston, SC 29403

(w) 843-958-1281

(m) 864-710-0437


Diversity Committee


This committee is responsible working in the community to increase minority awareness within PA communities and our patient base. The committee works with other organizations and philanthropies to promote awareness and improve healthcare in minority and underserved communities in South Carolina. The committee also works to recognize PAs serving in underserved areas.





Nominating and Elections Committee


This committee is chaired by the Vice President and is comprised of the Past President, Current President and President-Elect. This committee is responsible for soliciting nominations for board positions and identifying leaders within the PA community to serve as board members, committee chairs and committee members.


Eric Shoup, SCAPA Vice President, Chair


Finance Committee


This committee is chaired by the treasurer and is comprised of the President and President-Elect. The committee develops and maintains our annual budget and coordinates our annual financial audit. 


Elizabeth Spitz, SCAPA Treasurer, Chair



Legislative Affairs Committee


This committee serves as a liaison between state and federal legislature and the State Board of Medicine. They mentor membership concerning legislative issues and craft new PA legislation in concert with the Board of Directors and work with our lobbyist and legal counsel to monitor legislation in progress or plan for changes to our practice act.

Kevin Harmon, Chair


Membership Committee


This committee works to recruit and retain new members for our organization. They develop and implement plans to increase SCAPA membership while working specifically with our area representatives to develop membership in each region of our state.


Liz Scarborough, Chair


Philanthropy Committee


This committee will work to establish a philanthropy for our organization. We will plan to do one annual event around the state to support this philanthropy in addition to several smaller initiatives to help raise awareness about this philanthropy. This committee will also work with non-profit organizations to support their efforts as appropriate.


Tori Anne Davies, Chair


Public Affairs Committee


This committee develops programs to advance the PA profession in our state. They act as a liaison between the Board of Directors and the media. They send out public service announcements when appropriate. They coordinate and supervise PA Day activities within the constituency.


Asha Burgess, Chair 



Reimbursement Committee


This committee works to stay aware of current reimbursement legislation and policy concerning Medicare, Medicaid and third party payers. The committee works to ensure that PAs in South Carolina are represented well with respect to reimbursement policies in our state.


Kelly Headley, Chair



Medical University of South Carolina

151-B Rutledge Street, MSC 962

Charleston, SC 29425-0962

(w) 843-792-9096


House of Delegates


This committee represents SCAPA to the House of Delegates at the annual AAPA conference and is responsible for communicating any resolutions or actions back to the Board and to our constituents.


C. Chad Robinson, Chief Delegate (07/2012 - 06/2019)

Charleston Colorectal Surgery

125 Doughty St, Suite 280

Charleston, SC 29403

(w) 843-958-1281

(m) 864-710-0437


Amy Allen (07/2014 - 06/2017) 




Founding Program Director

Associate Professor

Physician Assistant Program

Columbia, SC  29208

803-216-3951 – phone

803-216-3953 - fax



Ali Whitten (07/2013 - 06/2018)


Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal